Gateway Computers Complaint

Gateway Computers Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

Gateway M-6750 Craptop - Gateway M-6750 notebook


Bought gateway M-6750 from bestbuy in Jan/08'. Used it couple of times then the screen went white suddenly. Called the gateway tech. and they couldn't do anything with it over the phone and told me I had to send in the laptop. So I did. In summary (calling and emailing multiple times to check status until…), few weeks later, gateway agent called and said the computer motherboard had a 3rd party component on it and that the serial number was missing from it (what the ????). Even though I told this idiot multiple times that the computer was never opened for repair and it was right out of the OEM box, but the agent accused me of taking it elsewhere for repair and that the motherboard has been swapped/compromised (huh ????). And add to insult, if I wanted them to repair it, I had to fork up ~$250!??!. I told them to F@#$-off and return the laptop. I wished I knew how to open up the laptop and be able to swap out gateway products/components with something more reliable because they make shitty-ass products that I rather use them for scrapping gum off the walkways. NEVER BUY GATEWAY PRODUCTS!!!!


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to Gateway Computers
SUBMIT a ticket
for Gateway Computers
WATCH videos
for Gateway Computers
More Gateway Computers Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for Gateway Computers

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Claim this company BUSINESSES: CLAIM YOUR BUSINESS NAME FREE
Respond to this review BUSINESSES: REPLY TO THIS CUSTOMER NOW
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


donsuper3004 says: (6 years ago)
 0
gateway use to be a good computer brand at one time,but even I have never had such problem with them until now; but to fine out that gateway is no longer gateway thay were brought out by another company. They just use the gateway name on the computer Now.
That is a shame , becouse they sold the store with out telling it custumers. new owners.



donsuper3004 says: (6 years ago)
 0
gateway use to be a good computer brand at one time,but even I have never had such problem with them until now; but to fine out that gateway is no longer gateway thay were brought out by another company. They just use the gateway name on the computer Now.
That is a shame , becouse they sold the store with out telling it custumers. new owners.



Sigh123 says: (7 years ago)
 0
I bought my M-6750 Gateway laptop a year ago, I notice when I move the laptop from place to place, there a bunch of noise inside the laptop, I open it and there was 4 loose clips inside and that make me worry. Later on there a lot of problem with it like cd/dvd hard drive stop working, laptop can't restart or shut down, and now the laptop fan is broken. I really regret buying gateway product.



pwebel says: (7 years ago)
 0
My family member has a m-6750 that the screen suddenly went black and then would not power on at all. Being a computer forensic technician, I took it apart. I noticed there was a loose clip inside that had some burn marks on it. This computer was never taken apart and I have seen a lot of complaints about these clips coming off and frying the motherboard.



wakeb says: (7 years ago)
 0
Hello all who are pissed off at Gateway. If you own an M6750 that is having problems, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE send me the following information: 1) First and last name, 2) Mailing address, 3) contact phone number, 4) serial number from the computer. I bought one of those pieces of garbage from Best buy and the motherboard fried. After Gateway decided to tell me to go screw myself and reading all of you complaints I have decided to file a class action lawsuit against Gateway to replace ALL of our computers. Please help me help yourselves, I beg of you. My e-mail address is Pwakes@Hotmail.com. My name is Benjamin Wakefield, please put Gateway in the subject line so I know it is not spam. All of your information will be kept private, I will be giving the information to the lawyer I have already hired in this matter. Once the information is passed on to him it will be deleted from my computer. Thank all of you for your help.



DrewDube says: (8 years ago)
 0
Why is it that a lot of these were bought a best buy? I had the same problem with my MX6445, I bought it for $900 in 2006 (From BestBuy) with an extended warranty (another $350) and barely used it, why? because it was in for repairs all the time, first it was the screen, then the MoBo, then the power jack, then both jack and board, i had an extra battery, BRAND new, and when I got the laptop back from the depot my brand new $100 battery was DEAD, tried to contact them and they jacked my warranty due to "Too Many Repairs" and wanted $700 for a 6month warranty service......i told him I wanted a refund and he terminated the call, 15+ emails to their service department turned up NOTHING, NO responses, I have since bought a Dell Laptop, NO problems, I accidentally dropped it when my son woke up screaming, and even though it was my fault and I was out of warranty they replaced it for FREE.

Go to Dell, they do know what they are doing.



jordan1 says: (8 years ago)
 0
Same thing happened to me. I purchase from Best Buy 2-2008 and sent it off for repairs since they refused to exchange now the same thing happened again but it isn't covered anymore under the warranty. Crappy scam their pulling. I filed a complaint to the Better Business Bureau since they refuse to exchange when it was under warranty and now it's trash. Does anyone know where to buy an affordabe mother drive for this piece of crap? I'd hate to put more into this lemon but it was a $700.00 laptop.



jordan1 says: (8 years ago)
 0
I had a similar problem with my m-6750. This laptop was a piece of crap from day I bought. Similar problems. Also sent it off because they refused to exchange it not the crappy thing doesn't boot up anymore. It was the same power issue problem from when I sent it off the first time. I bought Feb 2008 from Best Buy as well. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau since they refused to exchange it when it was under warranty. Is it hard to mind a mother board for this piece of crap that is affordable?



lynndhen69 says: (8 years ago)
 0
same thing happen to me now..my laptop just went dead..this morning called them up told me to come up $400 for the motherboard..took it to bestbuy same t5hing I was ask to pay 700 for it..i was shock..



annah says: (8 years ago)
 0
I purchased a Gateway 6750 laptop in January 2008. It crashed once and I took it to Geek Squad at Best Buy and they charged me over $400 to restore data and "fix" it. It worked for about 5 more weeks and then the power just would not come on one day. I took it back and the y said that it was probably the motherboard and that it would cost $369 just to send out to diagnose the problem. Plus whatever other costs to fix it. They would do me a "favor" and not charge me for data restoration since I had just paid for it 5 weeks earlier. I decided it wasnt worth it and bought a new laptop, but I am pissed! The thing didnt even last me a year. How do we get a class action law suit started? Does anyone know?



annah says: (8 years ago)
 0
I purchased a Gateway 6750 laptop in January 2008. It crashed once and I took it to Geek Squad at Best Buy and they charged me over $400 to restore data and "fix" it. It worked for about 5 more weeks and then the power just would not come on one day. I took it back and the y said that it was probably the motherboard and that it would cost $369 just to send out to diagnose the problem. Plus whatever other costs to fix it. They would do me a "favor" and not charge me for data restoration since I had just paid for it 5 weeks earlier. I decided it wasnt worth it and bought a new laptop, but I am pissed! The thing didnt even last me a year. How do we get a class action law suit started? Does anyone know?



Ollie says: (8 years ago)
 0
My 18 mo old Gateway M6750 (bought new at Best Buy)went dead. Brought it to a professional & he opened access panel to find 6 loose shielding ground clips that were never attached at the factory. They shifted around and shorted it out. Gateway will take no responsibility since it worked the first year & I'M OUT $740! NEVER BUY ANY GATEWAY PRODUCTS. WISH I KNEW A LAWYER TO TAKE THIS ON...WILL JOIN IN CLASS SUIT IF ANYONE KNOWS OF ONE. GATEWAY CRAPTOPS FOR SURE!



okcjeff says: (8 years ago)
 0
I bought a Gateway refubished M6750 from Buy.com in July 2008, and now in August 2009 it is dead. My local computer repairman says that it is either the CPU or the motherboard. 13 months of use for an almost $600 laptop is ridiculous. Save yourself time, money and frustration - do not buy Gateway!



Gatewayisaripoff says: (8 years ago)
 0
I bought a 6750 "Refurb" for my son. It failed in less than 90 days. Gateway fixed it replacing the display, inverter and motherboard per their letter to me. It failed again about 130 days later, they refused to take it in for repair and told me to go to a local shop. The local shop said the mother board is bad. A mother board will cost $369 plus $100-$125 to install it. The same problem twice in 6 months and Gateway will not repair it. I an not going to invest another $500 just to have it fail again. I am willing to join in a lawsuit against Gateway. I contacted the arbitrator in Gateway's warranty by phone, they have not returned my call. I contacted the Fixer in the Chicago Sun Times and didn't get a response. Seems like this consumer is out the $700 I paid for a lousy GATEWAY CRAPTOP.



gatewaygone says: (8 years ago)
 0
The same thing happened to me. I have had two of these computers for 15 months. Both had loose clips inside, and 1 shorted out. Gateway says there is nothing they can do because the laptops are out of warranty. I am pursuing the matter through my state's dept. of consumer affairs. This is a manufacturing defect, and they need to take responsibility.



IZA27GMS says: (8 years ago)
 0
SAME THING HAPPENED TO ME.
I WISH I HAD READ THIS BEFORE...
it seems to be just a joke on me...



KevinMcplate says: (8 years ago)
 0
I have a m 6750 also purchased jan/08 After not being able to power on I opened it up to find a small metal clip resting upon the motherboard. Shorted it out. Worthless



luke3rd says: (8 years ago)
 0
I Just ordered a Gateway P6318U laptop.its to late to get my money back.it makes me scared after reading what you guys have said.they got my money out of my account only 5 seconds after clicking the button so its to late. I have what I will have.even if its Junk.could anyone tell me if they got the same laptop I got and had bad luck? my e mail is luke3rd@yahoo.com . or you can Just write a comment here. thank you.



SteveOh says: (9 years ago)
 0
For those of you who don't know, Acer purchased Gateway and the net result is that "junk-breeds-junk"......Gateway isn't Gateway anymore, and all good things must come to end.



SteveOh says: (9 years ago)
 0
For those of you who don't know, Acer purchased Gateway and the net result is that "junk-breeds-junk"......Gateway isn't Gateway anymore, and all good things must come to end.



EdDIE says: (9 years ago)
 0
Gateway computers, sucks. I used tgeir tech support at $59.99 for 30 minutes. Well they run you in circles for 30 minutes, and then want to sell you more time for $59.99. My problem wasn't fixed. I went to the BBB, for a refund, no luck! Gateway computers are lires and CHEATS, don't use the for anything. Ed in Texas...........



EdDIE says: (9 years ago)
 0
Gateway computers, sucks. I used tgeir tech support at $59.99 for 30 minutes. Well they run you in circles for 30 minutes, and then want to sell you more time for $59.99. My problem wasn't fixed. I went to the BBB, for a refund, no luck! Gateway computers are lires and CHEATS, don't use the for anything. Ed in Texas...........




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More Gateway Computers reviews


Similar reviews


[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team